Loew calls up three rookies as Boateng, Hummels and Muller in the cold

Germany head coach Joachim Loew on Friday named three debutants in his squad to face the Netherlands in their opening Euro 2020 qualifier as well as a friendly against Serbia next week.

Loew has called up RB Leipzig right-back Lukas Klostermann, Hertha Berlin centre-back Niklas Stark and Werder Bremen midfielder Maximilian Eggestein as he attempts to inject fresh energy into his squad after deciding to no longer select veteran World Cup winners Jerome Boateng, Mats Hummels and Thomas Mueller.

The 59-year-old boss has been criticised by Bayern Munich officials for his choice to drop the Bavarian trio after being eliminated at the group stage of last year's World Cup before suffering relegation from the top tier of the Nations League.

Paris Saint-Germain playmaker Julian Draxler, who has 49 caps to his name, misses out with a thigh injury.

Germany host Serbia on March 20 in Wolfsburg before travelling to Amsterdam four days later to start their campaign in a group which also includes Northern Ireland, Belarus and Estonia.

Germany squad to face the Netherlands and Serbia:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona/ESP), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Franfkurt)

Defenders: Matthias Ginter (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Marcel Halstenberg (RB Leipzig), Thilo Kehrer (Paris SG/FRA), Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea/ENG), Nico Schulz (Hoffenheim), Niklas Stark (Hertha Berlin), Niklas Suele (Bayern Munich), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen)

Midfielders: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Maximilian Eggestein (Werder Bremen), Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich), Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City/ENG), Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/ESP)

Forwards: Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Leroy Sane (Manchester City/ENG), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig), Serge Gnabry (Bayern Munich)